Frequently Asked Questions
Q: Can I get a Social Security Card here?
A: No, you must get them from the Social Security Administration. You may call them at 801-625-5641.
Q: Do I get a Marriage Certificate here?
A: No, those are issued by the County Clerk's Office in the Weber Center. You may call them at 801-399-8440.
Q: Can I get Immunization Records in this office?
A: No, you must get them through the Immunization Clinic in Nursing at 801-399-7251.
Q: Why don't we issue the wallet size card anymore?
A: The wallet size cards are too small to contain all of the security features to comply with the Department of Homeland
Security regulations. Therefore, they are not acceptable for legal purposes.
Q: If I had my baby at home, how do I get a Birth Certificate?
A: If a midwife delivered your baby, she will register the birth with the State Office of Vital Records. If you delivered yourself
without a midwife's assistance, you must contact the State Office of Vital Records at 801-538-6380.
Q: Who can get a birth/death certificate?
A: You can get one for yourself or immediate family only: Mother, Father, Sibling, Spouse, Child, Grandparent or Grandchild.
This does not include Step-Parents or In-Laws.
Q: How long does it take to get a birth certificate when I come in?
A: In most cases, it only takes about 5-10 minutes.
Q: How long does it take to process a mailed request:
A: Mailed requests are usually completed within two weeks. Please wait at least three weeks after mailing your request
before inquiring about its status.
Q: Can I get a certificate from another state in this office?
A: No, we only issue certificates for the state of Utah. We do not have access to any other state's records.
We do have contact information for other states we can share, Vitalrec.com website.
Q: Do I need an Apostille on my birth certificate?
A: An Apostille is an authentication on a document prepared to give to a foreign country. The following are examples of
when a birth certificate may require an apostille:
1. Transferred by your employer to a foreign country
2. Getting married in a foreign country
3. Adopting a child in a foreign country
4. Going on a mission in a foreign country
For more information, please visit Authentications Home Page or call (801) 538-1041
Q: Can I get a certificate from your office if I was born in another County?
A: Yes, we have birth certificates for the whole state of Utah from 1953 to present and death certificates from August, 2006
to present. We can get them for other years as well but, you may want to call to verify at 801-399-7134.
Q: How can I tell if I have a certified copy of a record?
A: There will be a small, slightly raised seal in the bottom right-hand corner of the copy, and it will be printed on
Q: How do I change a birth certificate to reflect an adoption?
A: You must send the certified court documents to the State Office of Vital Records in Salt Lake City along with the fee of
$55.00 which entitles you to a new certificate reflecting the new information that will be mailed to you. Please contact
them at 801-538-6363 for further information and requirements.
Q: How do I correct a birth certificate to reflect a Court Order Name Change?
A: You must send the certified court order documents to the State Office of Vital Records in Salt Lake City, along with
the fee of $40.00 which entitles you to a new certificate reflecting the new information that will be mailed to you.
Please contact them at 801-538-6362 for further information and requirements.
Q: How do I add my child's father to the birth certificate?
A: Adding a father to a birth certificate requires a Voluntary Declaration of Paternity. Both the mother and father must sign
the form, as well as two witnesses not related to either the mother or father. The fee is $15.00 for children under the age
of one, $20.00 for children older than one. The fee includes a new birth certificate. Please call us for additional information